Skip to content

Its to cold Outside.

November 22, 2011

Not only has the weather been getting colder outside, but the walls around me failed to keep me warm. Mary Alice and Sam went back home with my mother after  a weekend I wish I could change. But what was done was done, and I still couldn’t accept what my mother had done, despite everyone thinking I was in the wrong.

The Monday after my mother went home (refusing to answer my calls or coming to see me), Rebekkah called me at 6:30 in the morning. “Indi, there is going to be a protest about student fees this week. I’m going to need you to start coverage on this today. Get some names, go to schools and universities, get some interviews. I want you at the protest this week as well. We need to be the first paper on this! Up and at ’em sunshine!” My obvious first reaction was a groan. It was 6:30 am after a horrible weekend. I wasn’t in the mood.

But I was getting paid, and this was the price of landing what you thought was the glamorous dream job you always wanted. Except it’s not as glamorous as it looks in the movies. I groaned even more when I put the phone down. All I wanted to do was sleep. But I knew that now I was awake, sleep would not come to me. So I got out of bed and started my morning routine. By 8 am I was out of my flat and on the tube heading to my first location. It was one of the many universities in London. I was to start there and move on to the next one, compiling a day to day report for the paper.

I had to have a 500 word article written by 4pm in time for the evening edition. Well I would have to meet that deadline everyday in the week as my story would be the main story for the paper to work on. Most people would be thrilled and privileged to be in this position. Especially considering how long I had been working for the paper. I was guaranteed a weeks worth of front page news. However, having no one to share this with gave me the excuse for not being so happy. I didn’t feel my heart in it as much as I should have.

My first Interview was with one of the students who was orchestrating the protest. A snob to say the least. He had enough money in his back pocket to pay for at least 10 of his fellow classmates to go to University comfortably. Was he bothered about the cause for real? No. And he admitted as such. He was only part of the protest because he wanted his fifteen minutes of fame. After all, he was the one who had called my paper to request the coverage. *Yawn*

However irritating interview number one was, as I continued through the week with other protesters I realised that not everyone was doing it for fifteen minutes with the press. A lot of these kids couldn’t afford to excel their studies already, and with the price rising, they knew they might as well have not bothered with school. I was glad, every time I came home to write my piece, that I never went to university. I had decided to excel on my own, without the need for further studies. And though it was hard, in the end, I was earning money where at the same time, others my age were going further in debt.

The day of the protest, I had some sort of…I don’t know what its called, lets just say, someone woke me up.

I was interviewing some parents of those involved and one mother made me realise that I was a stupid ungrateful little girl. She was partaking in the protest with her daughter. She was a single mother and when I asked her about how this affected her, she replied with a heartfelt comment out of which one statement struck me instantly.

‘Its not easy being a single parent. Its very hard, your life revolves around your child and your dont have anyone you can share these problems with.’

Her words stung me. I realised that after all was said and done, my mother had given up a lot for me and my progression. And I know for a fact that when I decided to quit my studies before going to university, she was unhappy yet supportive.

Unhappy… yet Supportive.

This weekend. I plan on going home to see my mother and I hope we will be able to make amends. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2012 3:27 pm

    Here’s to the cold weather and the warming of hearts.

  2. November 23, 2011 9:18 am

    YAY You’re back!!! 😀 And with a darker theme!

  3. November 22, 2011 4:58 pm

    Your writing is good, Miss Independant. The character in this article sounds a lot like me, since my writing life leaves me wanting to do other things, although I should be very excited about this past year. I have two novels and a novella completed I haven’t published yet. Future publishing may be left up to some brave soul with an investing spirit since I’m beginning to enjoy my earnings by venturing outside the bubble more. I enjoy reading your work and hope you find the time to write more.

    R.D….

Leave a Reply

