Skip to content

A new dawn. A new day.

June 22, 2011

“Next Stop Victoria”

The overhead voice boomed in my ears as the train travelled along to its destination. I shoved my headphones back into my ears to continue listening to Lady Gaga’s inspirational voice of ‘Born this Way’, currently occupying my iPod. I only had a few minutes to gather my things back together before the doors opened and the noisy, claustrophobic carriage spilled out onto the equally noisy, claustrophobic platform. I sent a quick text to my mother, informing her of my arrival to the big city and warning her to wait for my call as I would be busy. I know her, she would still call me at the one moment where I couldn’t reach the phone and then worry I had been kidnapped or something.

“Welcome to London would you like a map?” This random street seller just came up right in my face in an attempt to make me buy the map he was selling. I had been warned about that by my friends that I had left behind, so I walked on, avoiding eye contact, but he remained persistent. For some reason, he felt that I really needed this map and I felt that he really needed a slap in the face. I looked straight at him with my most evil glare possible hoping it would scare him away from me. It worked.

I made my way out the station and pulled out a piece of folded paper from the depths of my loyal jacket pocket. The hotel name was scrawled across the top of the page and directions set out beneath it. The bustling city did nothing to help me find my way. London people can be so rude! I found myself being pushed left, right and centre for ten minutes before I finally gave up and succumbed to the idea of getting into an expensive black cab to get me to my sanctuary.

The job was not definitely mine as it was just a probation period. So I had decided to stay in a hotel till I got confirmation of the job offer. I didn’t want to end up spending money, that I didn’t have, on a flat or a house, if I didn’t end with a job at the end of the two weeks. During the cab ride to my seemingly distant hotel, I took out my phone and called my mum. She was glad to hear my voice, having been worried I would not make it too my hotel without at least being mugged. Ever the optimist, my mother. After assuring her that I had definitely not been mugged and was one hundred percent sure I was still in one piece, I hung up and tipped the driver an extra pound (because I am so damn kind) as he pulled up outside my hotel.

Of course, he let a lady do her own job of pulling her heavy suitcase out of the car, before he drove off without even making sure I was OK. Such a lovely gentleman. Not. When I turned around to look at my new residence, my mood faltered even more. This was nothing like the pictures on the website. The paint was peeling and the colour was faded. It didn’t help that there was a line of stairs in front of the entrance that made it difficult for me to yank my suitcase up. Lucky for me, a porter boy saw my difficulty and rushed out to help me. Maybe this place wasn’t all bad after all.

Porter Boy was cute as I watched him walk up the stairs, carrying my suitcase with ease. That thing weighed a tonne! He must work out. I was sure of it, but I didn’t get a chance to ask him. He was at the door before I caught up with him, but as a gentleman, he held it open with a smile before I walked passed him to the reception desk. My room didn’t resemble any of the pictures on the internet, but it was nice none the less. I put my suitcase in front of the wardrobe, intending on unpacking later, I did however, end up knocking out for two or three hours.

Since I had the whole weekend to prepare for my new ‘job’, I had no idea how to occupy myself for the evening. I was new in a city I had never been in, with a severe lacking in the social department. None of my working friends could afford to take a Friday off to come with me so I was on my own with no one to call on for company. But I wasn’t going to give in that easily. I got out my favourite black dress and turned on the tart factor (OK I’m not a tart, but even a little bit of make up makes me feel like a tart) before leaving my hotel for the nearest party location….

TO BE CONTINUED

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 9:39 am

    I really like your writing – have you thought of writing a novel? I’m sorry to offend if you are already an author….but am very interested in your story!! Actually, I just moved to a new country and in a big city now so I can relate to your character in your blog very much. I have zero social life too 😛 Can’t wait till your next blog!

    • June 23, 2011 10:04 am

      Actually, I have been working on my first novel for about a year now. Been struggling from writers block 😦
      But starting this blog has helped me with my writing so I will be continuing the book. I aim to have it finished by the end of the year (keep your fingers crossed)
      And no offence taken my friend 🙂
      I wish you all the best on your new adventure!

  2. June 22, 2011 7:30 pm

    First person blogging? What a fantastic idea! Might give that a go one day. Great post!

Leave a Reply

