Skip to content

Feeling lucky like a four leaf clover

June 20, 2011

My name is Sammy Independant. Yes Independant with an ‘A’ not an ‘E’. And yes, it is a weird surname to have, I know that already! Most people call me Indi. Mostly because it matches my Asian complexion without the added racism people would conclude. I’m a fresh out of college and decided that I didn’t want to continue with further studies, instead I wanted to use what I lacked in academics to find me a job.

The trouble is, being someone like me, its hard to find a job. During summer when all my friends would be working part time, I would be running between shops and offices to find a place for me. Trouble was, I was inexperienced and had nothing to offer to prove to employers that I would be a great addition to their business. But nothing came along and it didn’t help that I was not the best at academics.

If there was one thing I learnt in all my life, it was to never give up! No matter how far I was thrown, I always found a way to get back up and start again. And this time was no different.

When I was a kid, studying in school, I was never bright. I always needed help and I was lucky enough to have a support group who helped me through school and college. But when my options came to go on to further studies, I decided it was time to play on my strengths and find my success. So, I decided to get a job. I’m not a sit down for eight hours type of person, I like being around people and doing things that keep me on the go. You can say, I am the face of a real peoples person. However, like I’ve already said, this is not something that I have professional experience in. So I needed to find a way to prove myself.

That was eleven months ago. It is June and I have yet to find a job. I had a few weeks here and there working with family across the nation, but nothing that stuck. But I applied for this job at a national newspaper. Based in London, it would mean I would have to relocate from my suburban residence and move into a big city. As a country girl, I look forward to the transition. But this is just the interview stage. I got the call yesterday. They had seen my online self created ‘magazine’ and were impressed. They wanted to see me in person. Fingers crossed, they are impressed by that too! We shall see. But I have my hopes up. Tomorrow I’m London bound for my first ever interview, and like Jennifer Lopez recently sang. ‘I feel lucky like a four leaf clover.’

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 4:53 pm

    Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great, let alone the content!

    • August 18, 2011 11:59 am

      Thank You. Not too long. i think about 3 months now

  2. July 29, 2011 2:55 pm

    This article was really good. I look forward to reading another one.

  3. June 20, 2011 7:37 pm

    Good luck in your interview! Bring an umbrella too! It’s seems like it’s been raining for weeks here in London. Then again I might have just jinxed it, and it could be sunny.

    Thank you for subscribing to La Plume Noire!

Leave a Reply

